Navigation

In which I ask your opinion on the matter of head shots

My dear friend, Tina Francis of our SheLoves sisterhood, took a few photos of me for my upcoming author headshot.

(I’m trying to act like I write sentences like that all the time, but who are we kidding? I’m totally freaking out and excited.)

(This is the stuff I didn’t know about/think about. Head-shots. Who knew work went into the pictures of the writer on the dust jacket, eh?)

Well, at the sage advice of Laura and a few others, I went and had my make-up and hairs done for the big event, and then I met Tina and her friend, Sarah, at Crescent Beach for a few pictures.

(Aesthetician: So when was the last time you had your make-up done? Me: Um, my wedding twelve years ago? Her: *faint*)

We’ve had many a long conversation with my family and my friends about the pros vs. cons of Glasses and Non-Glasses. Right now: we’re thinking glasses for my social media self because I wear glasses every single day and it’s my usual self. But for the book, we’re thinking No Glasses because, let’s face it, these are rather “trendy” frames and in a year or two, they might look hilarious and dated for the long-haul of a physical book (at least you hope it’s a long haul….). And don’t even get us started on the whole Smile vs. No-Smile. (Here’s a sample: feminists have this stigma of being not fun or happy! You need to be smiling! No, no, it’s a serious and thoughtful book, you need to look serious and thoughtful….and so on.)

So here are the four we’ve narrowed down. I posted a picture on Instgram of us looking at them all and every one immediately weighed in with their favourites. So I thought maybe it would be fun to ask your opinion of our final four. I have a few others that I’ll use for other stuff but this is just for the author headshot on the book itself.

Which one would you choose for the official author photo?

help me pick a headshot

 

 

miscellaneous, photos

250 Responses to In which I ask your opinion on the matter of head shots

  1. Julia Silge February 10, 2013 at 7:26 am #

    I vote 2! And although I love your glasses, I think your thoughts re: trendiness are good ones.

  2. Julie W February 10, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    #2 would be my pick. #1 is lovely but I think #2 fits your personality more.

  3. Christie Purifoy February 10, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    #1! But you can’t go wrong with any of these.

  4. Jennifer February 10, 2013 at 7:28 am #

    #2 for the book! Speaking as someone who has never met you, but reads you blog every day, I think #2 is most “you.” How fun!!

  5. Ashley Weis February 10, 2013 at 7:28 am #

    Number 2. Stunning. Gorgeous.

  6. bekka February 10, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    I can’t decide!! I think any one of the four represents various aspects of you that I’ve seen/read here. I will say that the angle of the top two (with you looking upward toward the camera) make you seem more welcoming than the ones where you look straight at the camera.

  7. Monique Vining February 10, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    They are all gorgeous, but 2 is my favorite.

  8. Larry February 10, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    #1, hands down.

  9. Grace Elizabeth February 10, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    It is so obvious! Number one! Glasses put a barrier between me and you, I can’t see your face properly when you’re hiding behind them, and so to me it’s like where else are there barriers? I want to see YOU, your heart.

    And of course I want to see you smiling…no brainer. Because God makes us smile, surely? Not all the time, but He does, and it’s good to laugh, and a smile can make someone’s day, and…yeah simply number one. But don’t get too caught up. Hope it’s all going well! Keep dreaming bigger!

  10. Rubi Ruiz February 10, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    #1 is my favorite. But you look fab in all 4!

  11. KatR February 10, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    I wear glasses, and I agree with you about the glasses for the book pic. My vote would be #1, followed by #2.

  12. Mark Allman February 10, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    Number one would be my choice…. order would be 1, 2, 4, 3

  13. Melody Reid February 10, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    #2 beautiful

  14. Jennie Melton Strope February 10, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    #2 all the way. You look lovely in all four, but this one reveals a certain spark that the others don’t.

    And I’m so proud that you didn’t wear a dark turtleneck and go with black and white photos.

  15. Morgan Rainer February 10, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    You are stunning in all but if I had to pick one I would go with #2!

  16. Emily W February 10, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    1 or 4. I love smiling. Smiling’s my favorite.

  17. Ellen February 10, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    Number one without a doubt. It’s timeless, classy, and shows your personality. Don’t worry about what should be expected of a “feminist” author. Just be you, Sarah, beautiful and full of joy!

  18. Beth LaFleur Cupitt February 10, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    #2. totally. i think it’s friendly, confident, and pretty, but not too serious and not too giddy. i am super extremely confident on this one and i’m wise and you should listen to me on this one.

  19. Annemarie February 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Number 1, definitely!

  20. Kelly February 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Definitely 1.

  21. Derrick Doyle February 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    #1

  22. Leanne Penny February 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    2, and shut up with your eyes and that scarf.

  23. Lucy Mills February 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Either #1 or #4, in my opinion!

  24. James Prescott February 10, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    1 if you want one without glasses, if you go for one with glasses, I suggest 4. They convey who you are the best I think. :-)

  25. Lucille Zimmerman February 10, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    My instant thought was #1

  26. WordLily February 10, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    #2.

  27. Liz M. February 10, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    #1 or #2! Either is great! I love your glasses, though! But I agree trends change too quickly with glasses so I think either of the first two are lovely!

  28. Brooke February 10, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    Love #1!

  29. Kaytee February 10, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    #1. You look inviting and kind, which I think is important for readers who may be on the fence about reading a book about “feminism”. I love #4 too but agree that the classes may look dated in a few years. Either way, you are beautiful.

  30. Juanita Dueck February 10, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    #1 for sure and I like #4 too…when you are smiling you light up big time. :)

  31. Megan February 10, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    #1. No question.

  32. Erika Morrison February 10, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    Gorgeous, YOU!!! 1 or 4!!!

  33. Bel February 10, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    #2…your poise is more mysterious and thoughtful than in #1, and more of your depth shows through. #1 is too polished, imo.

  34. Miz Melly February 10, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    No.2 is my favourite. It’s all in the eyes. I have a bit of experience in this as I usually get head shots done for work every 2 years (though I think it won’t be as frequent now…. want to keep my ‘youthful’ head shot as long as possible!!!!) No. 2 says ‘I know what I’m talking about, but I’m willing to have a conversation about it.’

  35. Elizabeth February 10, 2013 at 7:48 am #

    1 or 2…but I think 1.

  36. Sarah Farish February 10, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    One

  37. Bel February 10, 2013 at 7:50 am #

    P.S. You’re still smiling in #2, but more subtly than #1. You look pleased, as if you know some delicious secret.

    • Jim Fisher February 10, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

      Cover one half of Sarah’s face in #2 and then the other half. There are two messages there which are perfect for the book. Delicious secret … yes that!

  38. Christine February 10, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    I don’t know you of course and I just started following you and reading your posts but I LOVE LOVE LOVE shot #2 !

  39. Beth Ricci February 10, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Beauty-full. Wow. I vote for number two. I’d buy any book with that photo on it :)

  40. Amy Lepine Peterson February 10, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    2. You look thoughtful, beautiful, and like you’re smiling to yourself at the thought of something happy. I also love 4.

    Be sure to tell us what the final tally of blog votes is! I’m curious.

  41. Megan Savoie February 10, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    I am a huge fan of #2! You look like you’re in on an especially delicious secret!

  42. Mms February 10, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    #1

  43. gwallace February 10, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    #1 – love it!

  44. HopefulLeigh February 10, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    You, my friend, are gorgeous. These are all winners. #1 draws me in immediately. Makes me feel like we’re back at the lake house. Though #2 has the same effect but more in a “what smartass thing is she going to tell me?” kind of way. I love your glasses but you could be right in thinking about the longevity of the book vs. the trendiness of the frames.

  45. Aaron Smith (CulturalSavage) February 10, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Sans glasses, number 2.with glasses, number 3.

    Over all, I like 2 the best, but number 3 does have a “cute nerd” vibe to it.

    Much of it depends on if you want to be known as an author with glasses or not.

    • Clint W February 10, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      I was going to say pretty much what Aaron said. They’re all excellent, but 2 and 3 seem more “authorly.”

  46. Alison February 10, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I love them all. BUT, my husband and I both agree that if you want an overall classic look, #1 is your pick (…or pic? ha!). If you want glasses, then #3. And I love the turquoise scarf bringing out your eyes!!

    http://lublink.org/alison

  47. jennadeckert February 10, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    #2 is my favorite.

  48. Robert Swain February 10, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    I think #1 looks like your personality may be shining through and it is a dazzling shot. #4 is nice but the glasses are so profound in the picture that it looks like you are hiding from something. #3 looks like you are hawking a book on forensic pathology.

  49. Taigan Bombay February 10, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    #1!

  50. Laura Davis February 10, 2013 at 8:01 am #

    i love #1. you look beautiful and smart, but also nice. it would make me want to read your book.

  51. Tara M. Owens February 10, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    I love them all. You look gorgeous. And headshots are awesome. I would say #2 is my fav, but I love #1 as well. If you go with glasses (why worry about being dated? Just be who you ARE!), I would say #3, hands down.

  52. Allison Fore February 10, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    I vote #2. It shows your amazing eyes the best. And you’re still smiling.

  53. Kelley Nikondeha February 10, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    Sarah… you and Tina are quite a team! So lovely. I tend to think no glasses for the book cover. Both 1 and 2 are amazing, but if pressed, I’d say 2. I think 1 is so open and inviting. But 2 hints at something… you are inviting yet a tad mysterious. Something about 2 says ‘this is going to be fun – there are some surprises up ahead if you’re up for it!’

  54. Preston Yancey February 10, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    I strongly lean #2: inviting but confident. A knowing smile, because, well, you’re dropping a few truth bombs here and there along the way and a face that can read both “I love you” and “I told you so” may go a long way. But in terms of glasses and retrospect, you do have some precedent with Lauren Winner and the ugly vintage frame love. So if you get a wild run for the glasses, for the “damn it all, this is me,” then I would say #3. All that said, you’re stunning and this, well, this is a drop in a pond of good things.

  55. Erin Adams February 10, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    I LOVE all of these. So great! I would vote for #2, if I had to pick one. I love #1. But, for the back flap of the book, I do like the smaller smile. Speaking of the smaller smile, if you do choose to show off your adorable glasses, go with #3.
    That was {un}helpful, right?

  56. OompaLoompaBurps February 10, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    #1 I think… you have lovely eyes!

  57. Stacia February 10, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    #2 – hands down

  58. Shawna @shawnab27 February 10, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    #2 is beautiful and you look like you know something we don’t. Is it wisdom? Is it a secret? Perhaps I won’t know until I read your book.

  59. ReJoycingToday February 10, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    #1

  60. Helen Cottee February 10, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    Definitely Number 1… Love the smiley :)

  61. Helen Murray February 10, 2013 at 8:27 am #

    1.

  62. Melanie Curry February 10, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    They are all gorgeous, I like #2 for the “official” one :)) so exciting !!!

  63. Mary Beth February 10, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    2 is my favorite.

  64. Nicole Joshua February 10, 2013 at 8:38 am #

    I think photo #2 is perfect.

  65. Brittaney Borman February 10, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    Although you have a beautiful smile and look awesome in glasses I think # 2 looks the most “you’.

  66. mintjulip February 10, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    #2! You’re smiling with your eyes AND you look thoughtful. Best of both worlds.

  67. Laura February 10, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    One! I love your smile…and I agree about the trendy-ness of the glasses, so no glasses for the cover, in my opinion.

  68. Sarah M February 10, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    #1!!

  69. Jessica February 10, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    Number 1. Def. For the book.

  70. Sara Knowles February 10, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    They are all beautiful, and #1 is the WINNER!!! It’s got the most welcoming angle and your smile is so bright!

  71. Susan Read February 10, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    #1 is my fave.

  72. Wendy Beauvais Nee Lockton February 10, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    #1 gets my vote. I love that colour scarf on you, and they are all absolutely stunning photos. I agree with what you said about the glasses though.

  73. H February 10, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    I like 1 but the composition of 2 is better I think.

  74. Angie Neal February 10, 2013 at 9:15 am #

    #2

  75. Kaile February 10, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    #1!

  76. idelette February 10, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    I *love* #1.

  77. Lalania Schembri February 10, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    My vote’s for #1 :)

  78. Daniela February 10, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    1!

  79. Sarah Askins February 10, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    I think #2 is the best.

  80. rebecca February 10, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    #1! …though you look wonderful in each of them. #1 looks friendlier, which you are.

  81. SaraK February 10, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    1 or 2.

  82. C.C. @ I'm On My Way February 10, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    My very opiniated 13 year old daughter Damaris & I both pick number 2. :)

  83. Taylor February 10, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    #1 :)

  84. Joye February 10, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    #2

  85. Judy Delperdang February 10, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    No. 2, definitely. I love how you’re looking up, your whole face shows, and you have a quiet knowing, inviting look about you. And personally, I love that your ear and nose piercings are visible.

  86. Bree February 10, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    I like #1 best, but my husband saw them and said #2 looks like an author, hands down.

  87. Sarah February 10, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    I’m not sure how I got to this blog (I think a friend had a link on fb, so my answer is a stranger’s opinion). Here is my order. 1 then tied 2 and 4 (not 3). You are very pretty and I really like your smile (you look youthful and approachable when showing your teeth and very grown up and wise in #2). I am not crazy about your glasses, but you look wonderful in #4 (#3 seems off in some way, maybe the glasses and the smirk). You have an amazing smile with beautiful teeth, yet I have not read the book, so #2 could be more fitting.

  88. Anna February 10, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    #1 in my opinion

  89. suzannah | the smitten word February 10, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    #1. damn, you are beautiful!

  90. Melissa February 10, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    #1 you look happy and that makes me want to meet you. Or at least read your book and get to know something about you.

  91. casey February 10, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    numero dos!

  92. Alyssa Foll February 10, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    #1– so lovely and inviting.

  93. Susan February 10, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    I like #4 – with your glasses. maybe because I wear glasses :-) But #1 is nice too

  94. Laura Desch Johnson February 10, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    1 or 2.
    freaking gorgeous.

  95. Morag Renfro February 10, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    I love how everyone is getting into this!! I think #2 – lots of knowing in your eyes – means there must be lots of knowing in your book too :)

  96. Dipunk February 10, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    #2 for absolute positive sure!

  97. Krista Borntreger King February 10, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    #1 but ya really can’t go wrong. I’d read any book with your photo on it

  98. Josette Collier February 10, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    1#

  99. Ramona February 10, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    What are the odds that you’ll get 25% of votes for each choice? LOL My favorites are 1 and 3. Love the smile of #1 –very friendly and down-to-earth looking; while #3 makes you look very thoughtful and contemplative, imo.

    • Ramona February 10, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      on 2nd thought… #1 is my favorite favorite.

  100. Cassandra February 10, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    1 :)

  101. Cristen February 10, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Definitely #1. You have such a beautiful smile!

  102. Karen February 10, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Number 1 is my favourite!

  103. KathleenBasi February 10, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    You look lovely. I vote #1.

  104. Lacy Blaine February 10, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    #2. But Sarah, more importantly, which one do YOU feel drawn to? And which one is right for this book? (cuz girl, you know there will be others…) My only advice is to let the feminist stereotyping (smiling vs. non-smiling) go…especially in a book that exists to tear down some of those very walls.

  105. Shannon February 10, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    2. It’s perfect, especially in a grid format. 3 & 4 are pretentious.

  106. Caitlin February 10, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    2, but you look absolutely lovely in all of them! :)

  107. Cara February 10, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    Oooh they are ALL so pretty! I really like #2, personally.

  108. TSJ February 10, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    #1 all the way.

  109. TSJ February 10, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    I already voted for #1, but wanted to add that you look happiest in #1 too :)

  110. Katy February 10, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    I really like them all and love you in your glasses, but I’d say #2.

  111. kristen February 10, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    #1.

  112. Rebecca J House February 10, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    #1. You seem so open and welcoming, with deep joy radiating from your eyes and smile.

  113. MN February 10, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    #2

  114. Lina Neufeld February 10, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    #1

  115. Abby Norman February 10, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    #1

  116. Lindsay W February 10, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    1–it radiates warmth and accessibility

  117. Heather February 10, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    1 or 2 but you look amazing in all of them. Good luck choosing.

  118. Christina Joy Duck Kannenberg February 10, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    absolutely 1. NO GLASSES!!!

  119. Jillie February 10, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    OK…I’m gonna go against the flow. I’d say #3 is first choice, ‘cuz you look really brainy and serious in those cool glasses. #2 is my second choice.

  120. D.L. Mayfield February 10, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    gah! they are all good but i am partial to #4. and i really really want to know if you have read Caitlin Moran’s book, How to Be a Woman.

  121. Katie February 10, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    Definitely #2.

  122. Angie A. February 10, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    #1

  123. Stefanie February 10, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    #1, most definitely. beautiful.

  124. JA February 10, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    #2 for your book b/c it’s off center which doesn’t make you the focus of attention as your book should be. Hope this makes sense…coming from someone with an extra sensitivity to things most people couldn’t care less about :)

  125. Steph H. February 10, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    I still say #2! I think that while #1 is gorgeous, it’s almost CoverGirl like with it’s perfect symmetry. In an artsy way, #2 leaves a bit of physical space in the photo, like you’ve given your book, but you’re open to discussion. (But seriously, you can’t lose- you look amazing in all of them!)

  126. Kate February 10, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    You look beautiful I all,but my pick is number 1

  127. Susan February 10, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    #1. Absolutely.

  128. Lisa Mamula February 10, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    #1!

    And also, you’re so pretty!

  129. Kristy February 10, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    I vote #1

  130. Chris February 10, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    1 it up.

  131. JennaDeWitt February 10, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    I like #2. It says friendly, but knowledgeable/serious about your topic. I totally agree with the Mona Lisa/mystery comments and think your eyes are far too stunningly beautiful to be overpowered by big glasses in something like this, though I totally love my glasses for everyday fashion/use so I get that look.

    I would say #1 for social media because it’s fun. :D

    Also, if we are talking glasses frames, I have to say I’m partial to the frame shape in your “in which you meet Sarah Bessey” button on the right. Those are a good pair for your beautiful face. <3

  132. KT February 10, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    #2… or #1. But 2 really speaks to me for some reason

  133. Alana G February 10, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    I was torn between 1 and 2. but then #2 keeps catching my eye so #2. :D I like it. yea ive had glasses since 11th grade or so that was 13 yrs ago or more. i’m wanting contacts but that’ll be a while. i was always told “you cant get contacts, you have a sigmatism.” now they make a contact just for that. so lets see if they’ll say that now LOL

  134. Meagan Joye February 10, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    #1. For sure.

  135. Anne February 10, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    Tough choice! But I’d say #1.

  136. Lisa February 10, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Definitely the first. What a stunner you are.

  137. Mama Bean February 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    #! ack! I was so excited about #1 I cldn’t even wait to put an exclamation point on it!! lol :) #1. yup. I like the hair and make-up. hope it was fun getting Dolled to the Up

  138. rachel February 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    I love them all! #2 is my vote for the book. : )

  139. Helen February 10, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    #1 you eyes are gorgeous and although you wear glasses all the time in real life. I think without glasses makes you feel more approachable on a cover, if that makes sense.

    • Helen February 10, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

      oops add a “r” to you for your eyes!

  140. Samantha February 10, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    #4, it’s the honesty of the first pic but without it’s sense of expectation, as if she needs the reader to believe her. Four says to me ” I’m here, period.”

  141. Katie February 10, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    #1!

  142. jennifer February 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    #1! so pretty & happy :)

  143. Linda Stoll February 10, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    #1 is you, honey … you’ve got something to smile about and it makes you look like the girl next door and real approachable.

    and tell me … do your eyes REALLY match your scarf so vividly?

    sorry, but no thanks to the glasses …

  144. Caris Adel February 10, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    #2!

  145. Natasha February 10, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Torn between #1 and #2. LOVE your smile in #1!

  146. Francie February 10, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    #1!

  147. Erika Tritipo February 10, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    #1!

  148. Rebekah C. February 10, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Given your parameters, #2. :)

  149. Bethany Grace Paget February 10, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Oh yes my fave made it to the final 4. #1 baby! You are a BABE!

  150. Andrea Beyer February 10, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    They are all good, but #2 is my favorite. I’m not quite sure why… perhaps you look mischevious there, but it’s my favorite.

  151. Lisa Pippus February 10, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    #2!

  152. Kathryn Johnson February 10, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Number one!

  153. K February 10, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

    #1! Fresh, beautiful, easy to talk to.

  154. Amy Carrigan February 10, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    I like #2. It’s almost like you’re inviting us all for a cuppa, to share juicy tidbits of knowledge. :)

  155. Adele Chapman February 10, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    I love number 1. Gorgeous.

  156. Jessica Clemmer February 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    I totally agree on the more ‘timeless’ aspect of no glasses. I definitely like both #1 and #2…but I think that #1 seems more ‘friendly’, and I think since the word ‘feminist’ already makes people think “scary lady”, the smiling might help ease them in… ;)

    • Jessica Clemmer February 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      AND…I love the nose ring, which also shows up better in 1 and 2… just sayin’…

  157. J.R. Goudeau February 10, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    I want your glasses and love love your nose ring (ask Kelley–she’s trying to talk me into one!) I think you should go with #2, even though I’d be thrilled with #1. Also, your scarf is gorgeous! :)

  158. Jo Inglis February 10, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    #2

  159. Laura February 10, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    1 and 4!

  160. Katherine February 10, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    #2

  161. sgilberttweets February 10, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    #2!

  162. ErinS February 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    I vote for #2 as well. Confident, strong, mysterious, and stunningly gorgeous!!!
    ~E.

  163. Lindsay February 10, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    At first I thought definitely 2, but then I realized I also love 1. You can’t go wrong! Gorgeous pictures!!

  164. Rose February 10, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    They all look lovely, but for some reason I can picture number 1 on the back of a book.

  165. Jennchiodo February 10, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I’m way late to the game, but I’m throwing in my humble opinion anyway. I love #1 and #2. Can’t decide between them though. You are looking good, girlfriend!!!

  166. Briana C. Price February 10, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    They all look great, but I am going to have to go with number 1!

    Briana C.

  167. Sarah Simpson February 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    I love, love, LOVE number 2! you look so gorgeous in all of them, but I would read a book with a picture like number 2 on the back of it!

  168. Nancy Peacock February 10, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    #1 (though 2 is awesome too).

  169. Drey February 10, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    # 1!!!

  170. Allison February 10, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I love #2.

  171. Katherine Willis Pershey February 10, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    1 and 4. :)

  172. Carol February 10, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

    #2….lovely.

  173. Alexandra February 10, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    All are lovely, but #2 for the author photo.

  174. Laura Werezak February 10, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    I like #1!

  175. geoffh February 10, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    These are all great. i like 2 the best :-) .

    I had a similar freakout moment with my publisher. I got an URGENT email saying that in two days I needed to get a profile picture to them. I don’t like what I got so much, but oh well.

    Looking forward to your book coming out.

  176. EstherEmery February 10, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    Another vote for #2. Letting us see you.

  177. Liz Colver February 10, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    2!!!!! it gives a little hint of “I’m provocative and happy about it.” my kind of look :)

  178. Rachel Dee February 10, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    You look lovely in each picture but #1 makes me feel like we would be friends.

  179. kristina February 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    Number 1

  180. Neva February 10, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I love number 2. Definitely a sparkle in your eye.

  181. Charlotte February 10, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    I’m probably way late on this but no. 2!!! Lady you are gorgeous!!!!

  182. wendy February 10, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    1 or 2 are my favourites… but I can’t decide which one of those I prefer. But I will say again, you are so pretty!

  183. Tiffany Norris February 10, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Goodness, these are all fantastic! I can see why you’d have a hard time deciding. For what it’s worth, I like #4.

  184. Beth Morey February 10, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    At first I was going to say #2 hands down…but now I like #1 as well. Which means: both are awesome. :) (#4 is my fave of the glasses shots, if you’re wondering on that, too…but I think the glasses hide your face too much, even though they are excellent specs.)

  185. pastordt February 10, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    I happen to be a fan of toothy smiles, especially when the teeth are as lovely as yours! So my votes are #1 and #4. But you know what, Sarah? ANY of these will be grand – you look wonderful.

  186. Anonymous February 10, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    No. 1 is my favorite by far. It looks exactly like (I think of) you – kind, joyful, sincere. The others are great as well but I just think no. 1 fits your personality really well. I agree with others that no. 2 looks mysterious in a really good way, but I don’t think that needs to be the face of your book, even though it is a component of your personality and your writing. Just my two cents :)

  187. Mollie Donovan burpo February 10, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    #2 for timeless quality and a mix of a little smirky fun :)

  188. Gina February 10, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    Either of the first two, but I like #1 the best. The smile looks more natural compared to #4, and I prefer the non-glasses all the way.

  189. Jessica @ Quirky Bookworm February 10, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    #1 is my fave. But I like #2 a lot too!

  190. Jessica @ Quirky Bookworm February 10, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    Also after looking at your pictures for that long… I’m pretty sure your eyes are creepily moving and STARING BACK AT ME. Time to click away. :D

  191. Miles O'Neal February 10, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    I suspect #2 is the best for the book, but personally I love #1.

  192. Katelyn Seitz February 10, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    numero uno!!

  193. Lisa McKay February 11, 2013 at 12:23 am #

    I strongly prefer number 1. The book jacket photo will be too small to pick up on nuances of expression, and I think the expression in number two is too nuanced to come across as well in a small photo.

  194. Rebecca February 11, 2013 at 12:29 am #

    Number 1, love it.

  195. Chris Summerfield February 11, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    #2 your face seems to be hiding a cheeky smile. I want to know what causing that and the only way to find out is to read the book the photo is on. :-)

  196. kris February 11, 2013 at 2:18 am #

    I’d say 2. They’re all beautiful, but I agree with you about the glasses.

  197. Jackie Turner February 11, 2013 at 4:08 am #

    I quite like number two. They’re all lovely, but number two just really seems like you. Well, how I perceive you, anyway :).

  198. Elizabeth Larson-DiPippo February 11, 2013 at 4:45 am #

    I like #2. I agree that they are all beautiful, but 2 would be my pick for an author photo. :) you are truly beautiful, btw.

  199. Beth February 11, 2013 at 4:58 am #

    #2!

  200. Meredith February 11, 2013 at 5:37 am #

    My vote is for #1. I’m all for smiles!

  201. Sarah February 11, 2013 at 6:00 am #

    They are all beautiful! Love the glasses too. However, for longevity sake I would say #1 (though 2 would be my second choice.)

  202. Chris Oakes February 11, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    #3 – but I’m obviously in the minority.

  203. michaboyett February 11, 2013 at 7:05 am #

    Okay, friend. I’m picking number 2. So much mystery but kindness there. Plus, you’re a total babe.

  204. Lisa Hoyt February 11, 2013 at 7:08 am #

    #2!!

  205. Robert J. Gerryts February 11, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    You know the old saying that I just made up, “When in doubt, always go with the picture with the most dappled sunlight”, so #4.

  206. Stacey Sparshu Miller February 11, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    I love #2. They’re all good (from a photography perspective and from a “capturing you” perspective) but my two cents worth is to go with 2!

  207. brandi February 11, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    I love #2! It’s sassy and smart. Fabulous.

  208. SamEtic February 11, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    #2 – all are nice though

  209. Kendall Ashley February 11, 2013 at 8:36 am #

    I vote for picture 2!

  210. Mary1912 February 11, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    #2 is my vote!

  211. Shannon Gallegos February 11, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Sarah, #2 immediately jumped out at me, as the Sarah I remember. Like many below, I echo that it shows an inner strength and glow of happiness -that somehow just says when you look at it “Trust me…It is HE whom you seek”. Another thing I remember so well years ago you constantly beckoning us to do! Years later from Texas to Canada, many babies later and trials and triumphs -what also stands out to me in all these pictures is you havent aged one single bit from the time I was around you and as silly as that sounds I think in part it has to do with the amazing grace He’s covered you in! :) MUCH LOVE -Shannon Gallegos

  212. Michelle February 11, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    You are as cute as you are inspirational!!! And I vote for #2:)

  213. Sarah Dunning Park February 11, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    Sarah, you’re gorgeous in all of them! I pick #2 — there something really amazing going on with the light – dark contrasts in that one between your face and hair. Beautiful!

  214. Renee February 11, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    The first pic, is the most flattering, as well as candid. I find the second, while nice, to be a bit cliché.

  215. Carrie Jones February 11, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    #1 all the way!

  216. Cynthia February 11, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    They are all beautiful (of course!), but I think #1 is perfect for your author headshot. Direct, bold, and very “you” while still being someone to take seriously. #2 would be my second choice, but to me it has a more demure/less bold look to it which I think doesn’t really suit the subject of the book.

  217. Sean Michael Ishum February 11, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    I like photo #1

  218. Cat February 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    I pick 2!!! I agree about the glasses, they’re fun, but will “date” the book. And I love the smile on #2-it’s not TOO eager, it’s kinda smart and sassy! :)

  219. Courtney Heiman February 11, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    #2 lovely and very book-worthy! You are radiant!

  220. Neema Naijuka February 11, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    #1 is great, open and inviting. The big smile works, even #4 is awesome.

  221. Nadine February 11, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    #2 is my favourite. You have amazing eyes and they just pierce with your scarf and the contrast of your hair colour. I also love #1.

  222. Annie February 11, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    I don’t like 2 as much as I like 1. You look much more natural on 1.

  223. Autumn February 11, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    #2 for sure – i mean they are all really nice – but #2 seems more real to me – not sure if than makes any sense – but hey you asked fo rmy fav and this is it!

  224. Amy Scott February 11, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    They are all lovely, but I think number 1.

  225. Rachel Heath February 11, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    1. I like all of them but 1 is my favorite. You look so happy and bright!

  226. lindseyfoj February 11, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    #2 – hands down! So happy for you…!!

  227. Stephanie Sheaffer February 11, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    #1 – You look confident, happy, and gorgeous.

    P.S. That scarf complements the color of your eyes perfectly!

  228. Krista February 11, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Number 2! I love the smile in the first one, but it’s just a bit much for a book I think. :) They are ALL lovely though!

  229. LapsedLutheran February 12, 2013 at 3:22 am #

    I can’t decide between one or four. One looks so pretty and professional but I have a weakness for hipster glasses.

  230. Taylor Holder February 12, 2013 at 6:46 am #

    Which one is the most “you”? That’s the one you should go with. Forget us!! Whichever one best emulates you and makes you completely confident in the woman who God has made you to be. —- P.s. you can’t go wrong; they are all as beautiful as your heart in writing. AND THAT’S VERY BEAUTIFUL!

  231. Dana February 12, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    Picture number two. . .it’s your Mona Lisa shot. There’s something beautiful there, but more to come at the same time.

  232. Monna Payne February 12, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    2! Don’t hide your gorgeous eyes behind those glasses. You don’t need to “look” smart, sista. You are. :)

  233. Amy Bennett February 12, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    #1 or 2

  234. Greta February 12, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    2.

  235. Leslie February 12, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    #3! Those glasses will never go out of style ;)

  236. Naomi February 13, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    2 – you’re not a hider so the glasses have to go (too much like a diguise) and I like the mysterious smile
    p.s. congratulations on your book!

  237. janetb1 February 13, 2013 at 6:05 am #

    All are beautiful. I like 1 though because your smile is beautiful :)

  238. Grace at {Gabbing with Grace} February 13, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    p.s. i’m a bit late here since I see you all ready picked but just wanted to say, good grief your a beauty…and I love that you picked 2. it’s gorgeous and so perfectly fits your writing voice if that makes any sense at all. snaps.

  239. Jessica Williams February 13, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    As it is your first book I think 1 invites the reader to get to know you in a genuine and disarming way. While I like the mystery of 2, I think it may wear better for future books :)

  240. Sharon February 13, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    #1 or #4 – you look friendly, relaxed, inviting a conversation. #2 definitely looks like you have something up your sleeve. Beautiful and not a day over 18!

  241. pindy4176 February 13, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    2! You look wise and radiant and happy – all the things a newly published author should be. ;-)

  242. Breeann Bowers February 14, 2013 at 12:44 am #

    I like no. 1 :)

  243. Ashlee February 16, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    #2! But those specks are great, too…

  244. joygirl February 27, 2013 at 7:20 am #

    I can’t believe I’m so obviously in the minority, but I instantly loved #4.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Help With Head Shots | Djibouti Jones - May 8, 2013

    [...] I’m asking for your help, and I admit that I totally stole (with her a-okay) this idea from Sarah Bessey, who has gorgeous pics and gorgeous words. These are most likely not pictures that will end up on [...]

Leave a Reply